Metrobank names 2017 outstanding Filipinos

MANILA, Philippines – The Metrobank Foundation yesterday announced the 10 recipients of this year’s career service award for outstanding Filipinos in academe, the military and police.

Metrobank Foundation president Aniceto Sobrepeña (center) poses with the 10 outstanding Filipinos (from left) S/Sgt. Narding Pascual, Lt. Col. Ricky Bunayog, Lt. Col. Elmer Suderio, master teacher Jennifer Rojo, UP professor Alonzo Gabriel, DLSU professor Esperanza Cabrera, high school teacher Edgar Elago, Senior Superintendent Joel Doria, Chief Inspector Rosalino Ibay and PO3 Shiela May Pansoy. BOY SANTOS

Metrobank Foundation president Aniceto Sobrepeña said this year’s awardees embody the best in the Filipino and have redefined public service as a worthy endeavor.

“From teachers who shine a light on the future of our children and youth, to heroic military officers who exhibit acts of valor and integrity as guardians of our sovereignty, to police officers who are peace warriors, life savers and community builders, the awardees, no doubt, render service above and beyond their respective calls of duty,” Sobrepeña noted.

The awardees for the teacher category are Jennifer Rojo of the Neogan Elementary School in Tagaytay City, Edgar Elago of the Magallanes National High School in Agusan del Norte, Esperanza Cabrera of the De La Salle University and Alonzo Gabriel (BSFT 2002; MS 2007) of the University of the Philippines. 

Meanwhile, awardees from the military service are Staff Sgt. Narding Pascual of the 26th Infantry Batallion of the Philippine Army in Agusan del Sur, Lt. Col. Elmer Suderio of the 1st Infantry Division of the Philippine Army in Zamboanga del Sur and Lt. Col. Ricky Bunayog of the 6th Infantry Division in Maguindanao.

For the police sector, Metrobank named as among the 2017 outstanding Filipinos Police Officer 3 Sheila May Pansoy of Digos City Police Station, Chief Insp. Rosalino Ibay Jr. of the Manila Police District and Senior Supt. Joel Doria of the Cebu City Police Office.

Among the teacher-awardees, Rojo was recognized for her contribution in the development of various learning initiatives, such as a compilation of scientific vocabulary worksheets in the form of puzzles and games, and the Mobile Sci-Hub/Lab that simplifies scientific concepts into visuals.

Elago was cited for authoring a comprehensive action research on cultural awareness and initiating efforts to support scholars who come from financially challenged households; while Cabrera will receive the award for her accomplishments in the field of microbiology, including the establishment of facilities for budding and practicing microbiologists.

An advocate of food security, Gabriel was recognized for leading the establishment of the country’s only laboratory of food microbiology and hygiene. He also developed teaching materials to bring the issue of food security to the grassroots level.

Military and police

A member of the Banwaon tribe, Pascual was instrumental in the construction of a school building and electrification of a far-flung community in his province. He also initiated a livelihood project for members of indigenous peoples communities.

Suderio was credited for developing a subject on unit administration at the Philippine Military Academy, as well as his efforts to quell terrorism and support communities through medical missions and other support programs.

On the other hand, Bunayog was cited for initiating non-combat initiatives to resolve blood feuds and facilitating the construction of two Madrasah buildings and repair of a school in Maguindanao.

Pansoy was recognized for initiating a quick response program for abused children and women; while Ibay was cited for his efforts to address criminality, including the launching of a digital platform for stolen vehicles and the founding of a non-government organization doing humanitarian projects for residents.

Doria was cited for his anti-criminality crusade through a program called POKEMON (Pakigbatukan Og sumpoon and Krien ug ang Epekto sa ilegal nga Makadaut Og makaguba sa Nasud/Fight and Eradicate Crime and Illegal Activities that are Detrimental to the Nation).

The panel of judges included Sen. Panfilo Lacson, Quezon City Rep. Feliciano Belmonte Jr., Court of Appeals Associate Justice Magdangal de Leon and US Ambassador Sung Kim.

Other judges were Manila Electric Co. (Meralco) president Oscar Reyes, Asian Institute of Management president and dean Jikyeong Kang, Pali Archbishop John Du and broadcaster Mike Enriquez.

The 10 will receive a P1-million incentive and be conferred with the award on Sept. 7.