NAST recognizes PH’s outstanding young scientists

MANILA, July 6 (PNA) — The National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST) on Thursday recognized the country’s some of the country’s young scientists for their notable contributions in the field of science research and development.

The awarding was held during the organization’s Pre-Annual Scientific Meeting held in Quezon City.

Aletta T. Yniguez was named as one of the ‘Outstanding Young Scientists of 2017’ for her scientific innovation and dedication in understanding the dynamics of ocean ecosystem.

Also awarded was Nathaniel P. Hermosa II for his significant contribution to the understanding of the fundamental properties of light-matter interactions and the development of novel techniques based on light that significantly advanced the state of knowledge of this field in the country.

Hermosa was also the recipient of the 2017 National Sceince and Technology Week (NSTW) Outstanding Research and Development Award for Basic Research.

Also included in the roster of awardees was Jeffrey S. Perez for his significant research contributions in the field of geology, particularly active tectonics and paleoseismic studies along the Philippine fault.

Jonathan Carlo A. Briones, meanwhile, won the first prize in the NAST Talent Search for Young Scientists.

His research work encompasses fresh water ecology in aquaculture lakes in Luzon island, looking into linkages between fish habits, parasites biodiversity, and overall ecosystem structure as a potential thrust for sustainability and monitoring practices.

Lucille V. Abad was named as the 2017 NSTW Outstanding Research and Development Awardee (applied research), and was one of the recipients of the Julian A. Banzon medal given by the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) in recognition of her outstanding research on “Radiation Modified Carrageenan as Plant Food Supplement (CPFS)” which was proven effective as plant growth promoter.

The DOST also conferred the 2017 NSTW Outstanding Technology Commercialization Award to Jude L. Sasing, Illustre I. Guloy and Ramon B. Gustilo is awarded by DOST the 2017 NSTW Outstanding Technology Commercialization Award because of their successful commercialization of the Axis Knee Replacement System.

The Axis Knee Replacement System is an implant system that is used to treat severe osteoarthritis of the knee joint through a surgical procedure called Total Knee Replacement (TKR)

The NAST also named some of its new members in the event.

Cesar L. Villanoy, Ph.D (Physical Oceanography) has been elected as a new member of NAST, for his significant research contributions in the field of Physical Oceanography that contributed to the understanding of ocean circulation and variability of seas around and within the Philippines.

Also named as a new member of the group was Raymond Girard R. Tan, Ph.D. (Mechanical Engineer), for his significant research contribution in Process Systems Engineering and Process Integration. He is recipient of Numerous Scientific Awards and Distinctions. Outstanding Young Scientist (2004), Special citation in NAST Talent Search for Young Scientist (2004), National Research Council of the Philippines Achievement Award (2008), and CHED Republica Award (2014 and 2016) Outstanding Science Administrator Award (2017).

The NAST will hold its 39th Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) on July 12 to 13 at the Manila Hotel. (Chona Marie R. Gallardo(OJT)/PNA)