The Carillon is the official UP alumni newsletter, published since the1950s. Its publication and distribution are managed by the Office of Alumni Relations, UP System, with the Director as official editor. With the objective of giving UP alumni a continuing communication link with and a sense of connection to the University and fellow alumni, The Carillon contains original news and feature articles, press releases as well as reprints of news articles from the different UP units, the UP Alumni Association, the different UP alumni chapters, and from fellow individual alumni.

UP alumni, their family members, and friends are encouraged to contribute news articles and photographs. They are also encouraged to send in biographical updates for the UP alumni database.




Recognizing the important role of the alumni in the life of the university, the University of the Philippines (UP) established the Office of Alumni Relations (OAR) in 1961 under the Office of the President. The OAR servers as the key UP Institution connecting the alumni with the rest of the academic community.

Since its inception, the OAR has sought to encourage the maximum participation, involvement, support, and commitment of the alumni to the University of the Philippines’ various social missions. It remains the primary link between the University and its Alumni Association (UPAA) in identifying, cultivating, and involving the alumni in institutional and alumni programs, events, and activities. It also represents the UP and the UPAA at institutional and alumni programs, events, and activities both locally, on and off-campus, and foreign venues whenever possible.



Dr. Junie B. Billones (PhD 1999)
Roel R. Suralta (MS 2002) received the
Outstanding Research and Development
Award for Basic Research (Eduardo A. Quisumbing Medal)

Dr. Alonzo A. Gabriel (BSFT 2002;MS 2007)
received the Outstanding Research and Development Award
(Julian A. Banzon Medal)

Dr. Gisella P. Padilla-Concepcion
(BS Chemitry, cum laude, 1975; MS 1982; PhD 1995)

received the Outstanding Science Administrator Award
(Dioscoro L. Umali Medal)

Ms. Rujealyn R. Reyes (MAEd 2014)
was awarded during the 2016 Search for Outstanding Teachers
(Elementary Level)

Dr. Ernelea R. Palo-Cao (BSBio 1979; MS 1983; PhD 1992)
was awarded during the 2016 Search for Outstanding Teachers
(Higher Education Level)

Honorable Conchita C. Carpio-Morales (AB 1964; LLB 1968)
recently received the Ramon Magsaysay Award for 2016

66th Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature:
Professor Emeritus Antonio “Tony” O. Mabesa (BSA 1956)
“Gawad Dangal ng Lahi”

Filipino Division

Mr. Ericdante T. Cabahug (ABC 1993),
2nd prize for Dulang Pampelikula for Deadma Walking

Mr. Carlito P. Casaje (MA 2011),
3rd prize for Dulang Ganap anf Haba for Chiaroscuro

Ms. Ma. Cecilia C. De La Rosa (AB 2013),
3rd prize for Dulang May Isang Yugto for Ang Mga Bisita ni Jean

Mr. Allan John A. Andres (AB 1997),
3rd prize for Tula for #PagsisiyasatSaSugat

Mr. German V. Gervacio (MA 1999),
1st prize for Tula Para Sa Mga Bata
for Ang Totoo, Raya, Ang Buwan ay Itlog ng Butiki

Ms. Annalyn L. Leyesa-Go (SertMPFil 2003)
1st prize for Maikling Kuwentong Pambata
for Ang Nakabibilib na si Lila Ising

Ms. Manuelita D.L.T. Contreras-Cabrera
(B. Arts,cum laude, 2000; DipIR 2004)

2nd prize for Maikling Kuwentong Pambata
for May Pula

Mr. Eugene Y. Evasco
B. Arts, magna cum laude, 1997; MA 2000; PhD 2007),
3rd prize for Maikling Kuwentong Pambata for Ambon ng Liwanag.
He also won 2nd prize for Sanaysay for Mga Pagsasanay sa Paggalugad ng Siyudad

English Division

Dr. Joachim Emilio B. Antonio (PhD 2012),
1st prize for Full-Length Play
for the Floret Road

Mr. Peter S. Nery (BS 1990),
1st prize for One-Act Play for Tic-Tac-Toe

Mr. Rober Arlo B. De Guzman (CerTA 2001; AB 2005),
2nd prize for One-Act Play for 1990

Mr. Patrick James M. Valera (CerTA 2009),
3rd Prize for One-Act Play
for Gawani’s First Dance

Ms. Larissa Mae R. Suarez (B. Arts, cum laude, 2010),
2nd prize for Short Story
for Sundays at the Cardozas’

Mr. Joel H. Vega (ABCA 1984),
1st prize for Essay
for A View From Masada

Mr. Hammed Q. Bolotaolo (MA 2014),
2nd prize for Essay
for Circle

Regional Division

Mr. Ritchie D. Pagunsan (B. Science Accountancy, cum laude, 1995),
1st prize for Short Story – Hiligaynon
for Ang Panaad

Ms. Early Sol A. Gadong (BS 2003; MEd 2013),
2nd prize for Short Story – Hiligaynon
for Nagakaangay nga Panapton


January-June 2018 issue