UP alumni named among the Outstanding Professionals of 2023

Seventeen UP alumni were among the recipients of the 2023 Outstanding Professionals of the Year Awards and the Eric C. Nubla Excellence Award given by the Professional Regulation Commission (PRC) during the 50th Anniversary program held at the Manila Hotel on December 10, 2023.

According to the PRC website, the Outstanding Professional of the Year Award is given to professionals in 39 fields of expertise in recognition of their excellent achievements in their respective professions and their significant contributions and services to fellow professionals, the profession, and the nation.

The Eric C. Nubla Excellence Award, on the other hand, is the highest honor bestowed by the PRC to the top 5 Outstanding Professionals who embody the values of professionalism, integrity, responsibility, competence, and excellence.

The Outstanding Professionals of the Year Awards were divided into four cluster: Business, Education, and Social Cluster; Health and Allied Cluster; Engineering Cluster; and Technology Cluster

The first group of outstanding professionals awarded was the Business, Education, and Social Cluster. The UP alumni awardees are:

Felina P. Espique for Professional Teachers;
Robert Marie C. Sy for Real Estate Service;
Mary Inglay G. Capuyan-Fokno for Social Workers.

Second group recognized was the Health and Allied Cluster, as follows:

Ermelinda I. Sabater-Galang for Dentistry;
Zaida K. Sadain-Urao for Medicine;
Royson A. Mercado for Physical Therapy;
Cecile Leah T. Bayaga for Nutrition and Dietetics;
Carla Krishan A. Cuadro for Speech Language Pathology;
Virginia M. Venturina for Veterinary Medicine.

The next group to be awarded was the Engineering Cluster. The UP alumni awardees are:

Rossana Marie C. Amongo for Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering;
Juvy J. Monserate for Chemical Engineering;
Romeo R. Quizon for Sanitary Engineering.

The last group of awardees are from the Technology Cluster. They are:

Edward A. Barlaan for Agriculture;
Henry L. Yap for Environmental Planning;
Adelaida T. Calpe for Fisheries;
Dennis Marvin O. Santiago for Food Technology;
Guillermo R. Balce for Geology.

Engr. Romeo R. Quizon, a professor at the UP Manila Department of Environmental and Occupational Health, received the Eric C. Nubla Excellence Award. He was the first Sanitary Engineer and the first Engineer to serve as the Dean of the UP Manila College of Public Health (2013-2019).

Each awardee was given a plaque of recognition for their role as a nation-builder and world-class globally competitive professional, according to the Master of Ceremony.

Written by Lyzete Balinhawang, Office of Alumni Relations
Photos from PRC Facebook

Reference: https://psse.org.ph/index.php/2023/12/12/engr-romeo-r-quizon-wins-the-2023-eric-c-nubla-excellence-award/

2018 UP Visayas Alumni and Faculty Homecoming

This coming August 24-26, 2018, revisit your Alma Mater for this year’s U.P. Alumni & Faculty Homecoming. Gather and represent your batches and acad orgs during the highlight event Homecoming Dinner & Awards Night on August 26, 2018. For more details call 336-8837.





UPV Office of Alumni Relations FB page


















Continue reading