5 UP alumni among the TOYM awardees for 2023

Five UP alumni are among the 10 recipients of the Outstanding Young Men (TOYM) Awards 2023, as announced by the Junior Chamber International (JCI) Philippines.

“These outstanding individuals have demonstrated unparalleled commitment, innovation, and leadership in their respective fields, embodying the spirit of positive change and progress.” said JCI Philippines on their Facebook post

The five UP alumni are:

Ruel Amparo, CEO and Founder of Cropital Enterprises Corporation, for Agri Entrepreneurship

Jan Carlo Punongbayan, assistant professor at the University of the Philippines School of Economics (UPSE) and Rappler Columnist, for Economics

John Mark Napao, President and Founder of Solar Hope, for Sustainable Energy

Ma. Regaele Olarte, officer-in-charge-chief education supervisor of the Muntinlupa SDO’s School Governance and Operations Division, for Education Leadership

Stephen Michael Co, co-founder and CEO of WTH Foods, for Food Technology Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Previously known as the Outstanding Young Filipinos, the annual national recognition is awarded to Filipinos between 18 and 40 years old who have made significant contributions to their field or community, according to the JCI Philippines website.

Last year’s UP alumni awardees were Dr. Paul Gideon Lasco, Dr. Beverly Lorraine Ho, Dr. Ronnie Baticulon, Dr. Ramon Lorenzo Luis Guinto, Manix Abrera, and Dr. Rico Ancog.