New UPAA Iloilo Officers to Support More UPV Scholars During Pandemic

GC Castro, UPV OAR

UPAA Iloilo Chapter BOD 2021-2022

UPAA Iloilo Chapter BOD 2021-2022 take oath. UPV Chancellor Camposano, inducting officer.

The new set of officers for the UP Alumni Association Iloilo Chapter Board of Directors took oath last October 29, 2021. The simple program was held at the UP Visayas Little Theater.

UPAA-IC President, Mr. John Evaristo Canonero

Sworn in as new President was Mr. John Evaristo R. Cañonero; as Vice President, Ms. Consuelo R. Geduspan; as Secretary, Ms. Tina Marie H. Sison; as Assistant Secretary, Atty. James. L. Kho; as Treasurer, Ms. Marianne E. Ganzon; as Assistant Treasurer, Mr. Dex Jesson T. Belleza; as Auditor, Mr. Michael Francis D. Villa; as PIO, Ms. Junel Anne P. Divinagracia; as Sgt.-at-Arms, Atty. Arnold G. Diaz; and as Legal Officer, Atty. Rene John V. Nunez.

UPV Chancellor Clement Castigador Camposano

Mr. Jayvee Lorenzo G. Falcis, Mr. Denis J. Jaleco, Atty. Shiella P. Olid, Mr. Michael Reginald F. Sardua, and, Atty. Dennis D.J. Guevara (immediate past president) were likewise sworn in as members of the board. UPV Chancellor Clement C. Camposano served as the inducting officer.

President Canoñero said the UPAA-IC will now focus more on the UPV scholars. “We dare to dream of a sustainable scholarship program for deserving students to help them cope with the financial and emotional challenges during these trying times,” he added.

UPV Most Outstanding Professionals for 2020 and 2021.

Oblation Trophies for UPV Most Outstanding Professionals, and outgoing UPAA-IC officers

UPAA-IC also formally awarded the UPV Most Outstanding Professionals for 2020 and 2021 announced in the recently concluded UPV Alumni Zoomcoming 2021 Virtual Homecoming held last August. Oblation Trophies and certificates were given to the awardees.

Awardees for 2020 include Ms. Ma. Estela V. Varua in the field of Economics and Social Sciences, Atty. Ernesto V. Perez in the field of Governance/Public Administration, Mr. Erel B. Narida in the field of Business Administration and Entrepreneurship, Prof. Melani J. Padilla in the field of Education, and Dr. Teodoro L. Jardeleza in the field of Health and Medicine.

Awardee Judge Cyril Regalado

The 2021 awardees are Mr. Benjamin J. Gonzales in the field of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences, Mr. Jimeno M. Damaso (posthumous), in the field of Economics and Social Sciences, Mr. Mariano V. Araneta, Jr., in the field of Business Administration and Entrepreneurship, Judge Cyril R. Regalado, in the field of Law and Judiciary, and Vice Admiral Giovanni Carlo J. Bacordo in the field of Governance/Public Administration.

Outgoing UPAA-IC officers were also recognized. Dr. Ray L. Alindong, Ms. Consuelo R. Geduspan, Mr. John Guidon Macciri I. Dela Cruz, Mr. Antonio Jose T. Evidente, and Ms. Janette Gay M. Panaganiban were given the Oblation trophy for their 3-year service.

Outgoing UPAA-IC President, Atty. Dennis Guevara

Outgoing president Atty. Guevara distributed Presidential Awards to recognize the efforts of the various alumni, alumni groups, and institutions who became active partners to UPAA-IC in their civic action and other programs throughout the year. Among the awardees were UP Fight! (UPAAIC and iAmUPHi), Dr. Marovi A. Celis, Mr. Rodel Castro, the UPV Office of Alumni Relations, and Chancellor Camposano.

UPV OAR DIrector Rey Carlo T. Gonzales

Ms. Elaine Logronio-Monserate

Also in attendance were Director Rey Carlo Gonzales of the Office of Alumni Relations, Director Julie Prescott of the Information and Publication Office, UPV officials, personnel, and alumni. Ms. Elaine Logronio-Monserate, a faculty of the Humanities, served as the event’s Master of Ceremonies.

UPAA IC is the regional chapter of UP Alumni Association for the whole of Iloilo Province. If you wish to become a member or would like to co-organize activities, send them an email through [email protected].