UP honors its 77 UP Scientists

Written by Celeste Ann Castillo Llaneta

A group photo for posterity of the awardees, University officials and guests of the awarding ceremony at the DL Umali Hall, UP Los Baños. Photo by Abraham Arboleda, UP MPRO.
The University of the Philippines (UP) honored its outstanding UP Scientists in an awarding ceremony titled “Celebrating Odysseys of Scientific Excellence”, which was held on September 29, 2023 at the Dioscoro L. Umali Hall in UP Los Baños (UPLB).

A total of 77 UP faculty members were appointed “UP Scientist” during the 1381st meeting of the UP Board of Regents (BOR) on May 25, 2023, comprising Batch 2022-2024 of the UP Scientific Productivity System (SPS). Of the 77, 22 are from UP Diliman, 33 from UPLB, 18 from UP Manila, and two each from UP Mindanao and UP Visayas.

Watch the streaming video of the ceremony here

The UP SPS was established by the UP BOR in August 2005 to support the development of science and technology and to encourage and reward scientific productivity in UP.

Vice President for Academic Affairs Leo Cubillan speaking to awardees and guests at the ceremony. Photo by Abraham Arboleda, UP MPRO.

According to the UP Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs, the University has been supporting its scientists through the provision of research funds and by honoring with the “UP Scientist” Award those who have distinguished themselves in their specialized disciplines. The Award bestows not just esteemed recognition but also material incentives and a conducive environment that fosters advanced scientific productivity for national development.

Since the inception of the UP SPS, the University has issued 774 appointments to the UP Scientist ranks—with scientists meeting the requirements of the ranks retaining or improving their ranks.

The event was attended by officials of the UP System, including UP President Angelo A. Jimenez, Vice President for Academic Affairs Leo Cubillan, Vice President for Public Affairs Roland Tolentino, and chancellors of the UP constituent units—UP Diliman Chancellor Edgardo Vistan, UPLB Chancellor Jose Camacho, National Scientist and UP Manila Chancellor Carmencita Padilla, UP Mindanao Chancellor Lyre Anni Murao, and UP Visayas Chancellor Clement Camposano.

President Angelo Jimenez giving his keynote address at the awarding ceremony. Photo by Abraham Arboleda, UP MPRO.
University officials and awardees throwing their clenched fists in the air as they sing the University Hymn UP Naming Mahal. Photo by Abraham Arboleda, UP MPRO.

Source: https://up.edu.ph/up-honors-its-77-up-scientists/