Prof Erlyn Sana receives Exemplary Civilian Service Award

CONGRATULATIONS PROF. ERLYN A. SANA! The National Teacher Training Center for the Health Profession wishes Professor Erlyn A. Sana a big congratulations for being the 2021 Recipient of the Award for Exemplary Civilian Service to Philippine Medicine by the Philippine Medical Association! Your NTTCHP family is very proud of you! #TatakNTTCHP Visit us: Source: […]

UPOU Chancellor Bandalaria appointed as ICDE Ambassador for OER

Dr. Melinda dela Peña Bandalaria, Chancellor of the University of the Philippines Open University (UPOU),  has been appointed by the International Council for Distance Education (ICDE) Secretary General Torunn Gjelsvik as an Ambassador for Open Educational Resources (OER). She  has also been appointed as a member of the ICDE OER Advisory Committee (OERAC). These appointments […]

Atty. Victor Avecilla ‘79 being appointed as the Presiding Commissioner of the Third Division of the National Labor Relations Commission (NLRC)

The Upsilon Sigma Phi congratulates Atty. Victor Avecilla ‘79 for his appointment as the Presiding Commissioner of the Third Division of the National Labor Relations Commission (NLRC). The NLRC is a quasi-judicial agency attached to the Department of Labor and Employment. It is mandated to adjudicate labor and management disputes involving local and overseas workers. […]

Filipino scientist to make history by reaching the 3rd deepest spot on Earth (Emden Deep in the Philippine Trench)

Dr. Deo Florence L. Onda, a microbial oceanographer of The Marine Science Institute, University of the Philippines is set to make history as one of the first humans and the first Filipino to reach the 3rd deepest spot on earth, located in the Philippine Trench called the Emden Deep which is approximately 10,400 m or […]


In time for its 88th General Membership Assembly, National Research Council of the Philippines (NRCP), the country’s premier agency for basic and fundamental research and the largest collegial body, has named its member-awardees and member emeriti as the recipients of the 2020 NRCP Awards.

UP Alumna elects as VP for the Integrated Bar of the Philippines, Zambales Chapter

The Alpha Phi Omega Sorority – Eta Chapter would like to congratulate our sister, Atty. Dahlia B. Salamat, for being elected as the Vice President for the Integrated Bar of the Philippines, Zambales Chapter. May you continue to uphold Leadership, Friendship, and Service in all your endeavors. We’re very proud of you! Source: Alpha Phi […]

RSU-BOR appoints new chief administrative officer

By Antonio G. Papa, PH.D. The Romblon State University (RSU) Board of Regents has appointed lawyer Glenn Niño Sartillo as the new Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) effective January 18, 2021, according to RSU President Merian Catajay-Mani. Sartillo holds a bachelor’s degree in Political Science, cum laude, from the University of the Philippines-Diliman (UP-D), a master’s […]

Filipina historian receives highest award from Spain’s Universidad Complutense de Madrid

Rose Carmelle Lacuata, ABS-CBN News MANILA – A Filipina historian has been given the highest academic honors by Spain’s Universidad Complutense de Madrid. In a statement, the Philippine Embassy in Madrid said Dr. Ros Costelo was given the mark of sobresaliente cum laude, the highest possible mark given by the Spanish educational system. Costelo defended […]

2 Pinays make it to prestigious National Geographic Society’s 2020 Young Explorers

Jervis Manahan, ABS-CBN News Two young Filipinas made it to the prestigious 2020 Young Explorer program of the National Geographic Society. Together with other youth leaders from around the world, farmer-entrepreneur Louise Mabulo and youth advocate Josefa Tauli from the Cordillera region will be joining the 2020 class of NatGeo’s Young Explorers. This batch of […]