UPAA names its distinguished alumni for 2017

by UP System

The UP Alumni Association (UPAA) has recently named the UPAA Distinguished Alumni Awardees for 2017. The list is headlined by prominent names honored as 2017 UPAA Most Distinguished Alumni—Supreme Court (SC) Senior Associate Justice Antonio T. Carpio, Budget Secretary Benjamin E. Diokno, and Senator Cynthia A. Villar.

According to the UPAA website, the UPAA Distinguished Alumni Awards are “conferred on alumni who have demonstrated extraordinary achievements and excellent contributions in their chosen fields that bring about substantial benefits to society and distinct honor to the University.”

The rest of the main awards include UPAA Lifetime Distinguished Achievement Awardees: United Nations Ambassador Lilia Bautista, Former SC Associate Justice Vicente Mendoza, literary critic Dr. Elmer Ordoñez, National Artist for Music Dr. Ramon Santos, and Atty. Renato B. Valdecantos who served various government positions.

Distinguished Alumni Awards 2017

The 2017 awards are also given to alumni who pioneered significant breakthroughs in the following fields: business and countryside development, community empowerment, corporate social responsibility, culture and the arts, entrepreneurship, financial management, health research, medicine, public health service, poverty alleviation and rural development, public service and good governance, science and technology, and women empowerment. UPAA will also recognize outstanding alumni, alumni chapters, and multi-generation UP alumni families with service awards.

The UPAA Alumni Awards will be part of the program of the UP General Alumni Homecoming on August 19, 2017 at the UP Bahay ng Alumni.

For the full list of awardees, click here.

Source: https://www.up.edu.ph/index.php/upaa-names-its-distinguished-alumni-for-2017