UP’s pride: 2017 National Book Awards winners

The University takes pride in the accomplishments of its faculty, alumni, and the UP Press in this year’s National Book Awards.

Assistant Vice President for Public Affairs Jose Wendell P. Capili, who teaches at the UP Diliman (UPD) College of Arts and Letters, won for Migrations and Mediations: The Emergence of Southeast Asian Diaspora Writers in Australia, 1972-2007, in the Literary Criticism/Literary History category.

Susumaton: Oral Narratives of Leyte by UP Visayas Tacloban College Professor Emeritus Merlie M. Alunan won Anthology in Waray.

Francis C. Macansantos, who passed away in July, was awarded in the Poetry in English category for Snail Fever: Poems of Two Decades. He used to teach at UP Baguio.

Among the winners, 14 are graduates of UP.

In the Literary Division, Catherine Torres (UPD, ‘02) won Short Fiction in English for Mariposa Gang and Other Stories. Alvin B. Yapan (UPD, ‘10) won Short Fiction in Filipino for Sangkatauhan, Sangkahayupan: Mga Kuwento. Marcos Martial Law Never Again by Raissa Robles (UPD, ‘78) won Non-Fiction Prose in English. Poetry in Filipino went to Rowena P. Festin (UPD, 2012) for Banayad: Mga Tula.

Victor N. Sugbo (UPD, ’74, ’76, ’83, ’92) won Poetry in Waray for Taburos Han Dagat. Remembering/Rethinking EDSA by JPaul S. Manzanilla (UPD, ’02, ’11) and Caroline S. Hau (UPD, ’90) won Anthology (Bilingual). Anthology in Filipino went to Christine S. Bellen (UPD, ’92, ’95, ’03) for Batang Rizal at iba pang dula. Maria Cecilia Locsin-Nava (UPD, ’91) won the Translation category for Shri-Bishaya, a Hiligaynon novel by Ramon Muzones she translated into English.

In the Non-Literary Division, Francisco J. Lara Jr. (UPD, ’79) won for Out of the Shadows: Violent Conflict and the Real Economy of Mindanao in the Social Sciences category. He co-edited the book with Steven Schoofs. Pinoy Manners: A Modern Guide to Delicadeza for All Generations won the Leisure category. It was written by Joy Lumawig-Buensalido (UPD, ’71, ’79).

Pocholo Gonzales (UPD, ’99) won for Gusto Kong Maging Voice Talent: Mga Sikreto sa Likod ng Dubbing, Voice-over at Voice Acting in the Professions category. EIGA: Cinema in the Philippines During World War II by Nick Deocampo (UPD, ’81) won the Art category. Finally, Karl Fredrick M. Castro (UPD, ’08) won Book Design for Colonial Manila, 1909-1912: Three Dutch Travel Accounts edited and translated by Otto van den Muijzenberg.

The UP Press published the winning books of Capili, Macansantos, Festin, and Sugbo, as well as Peryodismo sa Bingit: Mga Naratibong Ulat sa Panahon ng Digmaan at Krisis by former Philippine Collegian features editor Kenneth Roland A. Guda. (Arlyn Romualdo, UP MPRO)